Janke to Serve on National Advisory Panel

Posted on July 04, 2014

Featured Image for Janke to Serve on National Advisory Panel

Redacted from the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching

Dr.Emily M. Janke, Director of the UNCG Institute for Community and Economic Engagement, has been selected to serve on the National Advisory Panel for the 2015 Elective Community Classification Process, hosted by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the New England Resource Center for Higher Education.  Established in 2006, the National Advisory Panel plays an integral role in reviewing applications and offering assessments as to which institutions qualify to receive the Community Engagement Classification.  In addition, the Panel provides guidance and insight around issues that help shape the content and administration of the Classification in future years.

Members of the National Advisory Panel are recognized nationally and internationally as leading scholars in community engagement.  Their significant commitment of time, creative thought, and deep expertise are central to the selection of newly classified as well as re-classified colleges and universities.

Panel members for the 2015 application review include those listed below. CCPH’s Executive Director Sarena Seifer recently completed her term on the Panel.

  • Celestina Castillo, Director, Center for Community Based Learning, Occidental College
  • Amy Driscoll, Consulting Scholar, Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching
  • Timothy Eatman, Co-Director, Imagining America, Syracuse University
  • Thomas Ehrlich, Visiting Professor, Graduate School of Education, Stanford University
  • Matthew Hartley, Professor of Education, Graduate School of Education, University of Pennsylvania
  • Julie Hatcher, Executive Director, Center for Service and Learning; and Associate Professor, Philanthropic Studies, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
  • Barbara Holland, Senior Scholar, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
  • Elizabeth Hollander, Senior Fellow, Tisch College of Citizenship and Public Service, Tufts University
  • Emily Janke, Director, Institute for Community & Economic Engagement, University of North Carolina Greensboro
  • Lori Moog, Director of Service Learning and Community Outreach, Raritan Valley Community College
  • William Plater, Chancellor’s Professor Emeritus, Executive Vice Chancellor Emeritus, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
  • Eugene Rice, Senior Fellow, Association of American Colleges and Universities
  • Gail Robinson, Senior Advisor, Community College National Center for Community Engagement
  • John Saltmarsh, Director, New England Resource Center for Higher Education, University of Massachusetts, Boston
  • Lorilee Sandmann, Professor, Department of Lifelong Education, Administration, and Policy, University of Georgia
  • Chanda Smith Baker, President & CEO, Pillsbury United Communities, Minneapolis, MN

For more information about each of the National Advisory Panel members, please visit NERCHE’s website:  http://bit.ly/1j2mVSk

Applications for the 2015 Carnegie Community Engagement Classification and Re-Classification were due on April 15, 2014.  The results of the application process will be announced in January 2015.  Only those institutions that receive the classification will be identified.

To learn more about the Community Engagement Classification, please visit NERCHE’s website:  www.nerche.org

Share This